Childhood Books Come Full Circle

One of the best things about being a parent is getting to relive the best parts of your own childhood.

A subset of this experience is getting to read beloved childhood books to my son with the same kind of enthusiasm and weird voices that my parents used to read to me.

Here are a few of my favorite books from childhood that I am now reading to my kid.  These were my favorites not because of the stories they told, but because of the way my parents told them.

The Cat in the Hat

Seuss-cat-hat

I had this book memorized, and I can still recite the first several pages by heart.  Growing up, my Dad would quote this book, especially when my brother and I complained we were bored.  “It’s fun to have fun, but you have to know how!”

Millions of Cats

Wanda_Gag_Millions_of_Cats-book_cover

This books was hilarious to me.  Spoiler alert – a lot of the cats kill and eat each other.  Like, a lot.  Doing the voices of the Very Old Man and Very Old Woman is quite fun.

But No Elephants

But no Elephants

This is another quotable classic, made famous in my household because my parents would add “But nooooo elephants!” onto any request to which they acquiesced, as a way of expressing the whole everything in moderation philosophy.

The Monster at the End of This Book

mon001

This was my favorite by far, just because my Dad was soooo strong that he kept turning pages that Grover tied shut, or built brick walls over…all to save us from the monster that – spoiler alert – ends up being lovable, furry old him.  “Oh, I am soooo embarrassed…”

What childhood books were your favorites???


nanopoblano2015light

 

 

8 responses

  1. My boys love Hand hand fingers thumb. I’ve read it so many times that I have it memorized. It does make it easier to recite as they want to turn the pages and i can just read from memory.

  2. Omg I so can relate to this! My 19 month old wants books all day long. It’s great, but exhausting. I have never before heard of Millions of Cats. Looks, ah, interesting. We love Go Dog Go, Hop On Pop, and some new ones like Mars Needs Moms…

  3. My dad would always read “Grover Goes To School” to my sister and me. He does a perfect Grover voice and still reads this story to MY kid with the voice!

Babble at me:

