Amber Waves of Matrimony

Hello, readership.  I’ve missed you.  Have you missed me?  Don’t answer that.

Did you know that planning a wedding can be very hard?  Yup, this Mutha Fackin’ Marriage and Family Therapist is getting married.  Making it honest.  But honestly, how do people plan a wedding and see their clients and manage a therapy department AND write blog posts?   Paging Wonder Woman!

It’s like that pie chart y’all saw in college: in the legend you have school, friends, and sleep.  And that pie only gots room for two.  Mmm, pie.

Right now Brian and I are looking for a venue.

It’s hard because we have taste.  Normal people might call this being picky, but I just call them a-holes.

We have this vision of what we want, and we are surprised and frustrated that we haven’t found it yet.  Picture this:  it’s a hill in the countryside of Northern California.  There is dead, dry golden grass.  There are gorgeous, twisty oak trees.  The sun is setting and it gives everything a warm, golden glow.  There’s a barn that’s rustic but not too dirty or full of horse poop.  Maybe an animal or two, just hanging out.  And there we are, stuffing cake into the other’s face, acting all lovey-dovey you could just ralph.

*cue angels singing*

Doesn’t that sound amazing?!

That was the environment in which we met and started dating at this summer camp for kids, and it was kindof awesome.

That’s all well and good, but it seems to be proving hard to find a venue that is rustic but not too rustic, and that is conducive to having a wedding, but not so conducive that it’s like a freaking wedding factory.

And then once I find a venue (or once I get so desperate for a venue) that looks pretty cool, isn’t perfect, but I could see it working, then Brian vetoes it.  And vice versa.

Dear, sweet mother of god I hope marriage doesn’t require so much freaking compromise, because I am already sick of it.

Someone give me a barn along with an unlimited amount of money, stat.

9 responses

  1. Pingback: Wedding Whimsy | Psychobabble

  2. I got frustrated with wedding planning too, especially trying to find a venue. How about:
    http://cupcakeweddings.com. If I could do it all over, I would probably do it there, it’s rustic AND has great wine. Don’t know about the costs though and if it’s too wedding factory for you- I just liked the pictures of the real weddings they have on their websites. Anyway, good luck with the planning!

    • Thanks!
      You know, I oscillate between wedding factory and DIY. WF means that someone micromanages and imposes a bunch of rules, buuuut I also have to plan less. On the flipside, DIY means I get to make all the decisions, but then I have to frickin make all the decisions.

      I am hoping to find the right balance. Right now, I think the hardest part is finding patience.

      • I know what you mean. At the beginning of the process I wanted to DIY all the way and found out: that is not possible. But then when other people started taking over and started making decisions ( and with other people I mean my MIL) I was frustrated too. It’s like with everything else in your life: you can’t have it all but have to make the best of it!:-) Hope you find the right balance!

      • You hit it right on the head.

        Sometimes I find myself wishing I had a close, close friend with a huge house and gorgeously kept, large yard out in the middle of nowhere so I don’t have to follow any dumb winery’s rules and so I can do this my way and off the grid.

        Thanks for the support!

    • We’ve thought about that. Unfortunately, on paper the rules for the park say a maximum of 70 people, park closes at sundown and no amplified music. Plus, it’s more on the dirty side. Buuuut we’re thinking of writing to the rangers to see just how many of these rules we can get them to ignore……

Babble at me:

