Mawage is wot bwings us togeder tooday

I have been writing and rewriting my wedding vows (in my head) these past few weeks.

It’s a lot of pressure.

What I find hilarious is that every attempt I make, I end up inserting jokes into my vows.

They aren’t inappropriate, yucky jokes.  They mainly center on the fact that:

1) It’s very hard to be in a relationship with a Marriage and Family Therapist, and I love the fact that Brian isn’t the least bit intimidated by that, and

2) I find it hilarious that I am a Marriage and Family Therapist who’s…getting married.  I’m legit now.  Too legit to quit, even.

Because of #2, I feel immense pressure to come up with kickass, realistic, genuine treatment goals wedding vows.  Eh, it’s just who I am.
Hokai.  So.  This is what I ask you, blogging world:

Is it okay or not okay to make people laugh on purpose during your wedding vows?

UPDATE:  So far, the feedback I have gotten has been from my young-ish generation saying humor in moderation is good!   I wonder what an older-ish generation would say?  What say you, 40+ aged people?

18 responses

  1. 1) I am currently in school for Marriage and Family Therapy. 2) My mother is a Marriage and family therapist. 3) My dad is a pastor and he married my Husband and Me. He did this funny thing that I’ve seen him do a thousand times at weddings. When he begins to tell the groom the vows which are to be repeated to his Bride (we didn’t write our own), the groom usually looks at my dad and begins to repeat “I groom take you…” My dad then says “I’m already married, but thank you.” It always gets a huge laugh and everyone sort of settles in and the tension in the room subsides. The point is that laughter totally has its place in a wedding ceremony!

  2. It is totally ok to do EVERYTHING in your wedding exactly the way you want, and that includes your vows. The most painful weddings I’ve been to are ones where I know the people so well that it’s obvious that they are doing things a certain (lame) way to please parents or family members. And I count myself among people who did it that way. My wedding may as well have been my mom’s. So do whatever feels natural. If that includes humor, go all out!

  3. I’m sort of an expert here, my husband used to do wedding videos, so we’ve been to a thousand weddings. (Yes, I AM kind of a big deal!) We went to one where they did their vows in Dr. Suess rhyme, which was fun, if not a little gratuitously “original.” I think humor in moderation is great. Super sappy vows annoy me, because they’re usually not very clever. Yours probably wouldn’t be as trite as some of what I’ve heard, but still. If you want to write your own vows, you should be YOU, just a slightly more wedding appropriate version. We used canned vows because it was so much easier (and it probably wouldn’t have been allowed in our big fat Catholic wedding anyway.)

    • Good things to think about. I think what I am most trying to figure out is what is my wedding appropriate version? It’s hard for me to imagine what it’s going to be like saying x, y, z that I’ve written on paper in front of all my friends and family.

  4. Hell yes.
    A wedding is a joyous event. When we got married, there was a lot of humor (Sticking out of tongues, pre-you-may-kiss-the-bride smooching, We even got the Officiant to say “Mawwaige”.
    There is enough stress otherwise. If you (and Brian) are leaning towards humor because that’s who you are, go with it.
    It’s your ceremony, don’t tweak it at your expense to make others happy.

    Wow, didn’t expect to get so carried away…

Babble at me:

