Thanksgiving-shmanksgiving

Two weeks ago I fell ill…it was bound to happen sooner or later what with all the thesis stress going on up in here (see last post), and so I was very very thankful for this past long holiday weekend.  My goals were to sleep and eat and interact with people who are related to me and, in between all that, sit around and do nothing.  And guess what?  SUCCESS!  It was a glorious weekend!  So glorious, in fact, that I neglected to write this blog post during the weekend (hence the doing nothing), and it also included me having contact with a baby.  With its parents’ permission this time! Excellent.

But I wish to back up and first summarize the notable events from before the weekend.  Ahem.

On Monday, November 14th, Brian presented/defended his thesis and it went swimmingly!  I was/am very proud of him!

On Wednesday, November 16th I had a migraine but went to work anyway.  Bad idea.  By Thursday morning, I was full-blown sick from all that stress, so I took a half day and went straight back to bed.  Good idea!  Unfortunate timing for my immune system, Brian and I woke up at 4am on Friday (bad idea, in hindsight) to catch a plane to Seattle for Brian’s friends’ wedding filled with aero-nerds.  Sac airport just recently built and opened a new terminal (good idea!) but neglected to add proper signage so that people could actually get to where they desired to go (baaaad idea).  As we were walking, in the dark, in the cold, through construction to get from one terminal to the next, we came across a nice (read: not nice) man with a large camera.  He turned on the blindingly bright batman camera spotlight, shined it in our eyes, and began firing questions asking if we were lost due to the new terminal and lack of signage.

camera guy: “Are you two lost?  Is that why you’re having to walk to this terminal?”

brian: “yup, we are.”

me: “GO AWAY! HISS!”

camera guy: “So, you didn’t see any signs to get you to the right terminal?”

brian: “nope, we didn’t.”

me: “MELISSA ANGRIES!”

and then I sprayed plague-filled snot all over him (the camera man, not Brian).  Later on Brian’s coworkers said we made the evening news.

We would have been late for our flight due to lack of signage, but the flight ended up being canceled. Sooooooo, Brian waited while I tried to sleep with the incessant blinging and dinging and announcing of flights over the PA system for 5 hours in the airport while I was a seething pile of viral plague.  Yummy.

Summary:  Seattle was way too cold, I was way too sick and tired, but we managed to have fun at the wedding, which was 20s themed (as well as nerd themed!).  Observe:

We do the 20s in style

Also, I figured I’d use this blog to help out some poor kid or teenage boy or seriously mentally repressed adult male find what he had lost:

Here is Brian doing a very great job of displaying fake empathy.  Or maybe it’s real empathy.  I suppose if I had a dinos- nope, fake empathy.

Thank goodness that following week was short, because I was slowly dying and turning into a walker from The Walking Dead. Moaning, slow walking and all.  The Thanksgiving break was just what I needed to recover and relax and get an added boost of baby-crazy.  We spent Thursday with Brian’s fam and had amazing food.  The Packers won handily against the Lions, which means that my Detroit-born supervisor at work must wear my cheesehead and have his picture taken.  Friendly bets=future leverage.  We spent Friday with my family and my brother almost killed my elderly childhood cat.  Good times.

One of my good friends from high school politely managed to have her baby on Friday as well so that I could visit the following day while I was still in town.  Talk about cuteness!  This was more exciting than reading about unmedicated Bipolar Disorder!  I got to hold the youngest baby I have ever held – 21 hours old.  Beat my last record by over 5 days!  Pretty soon I’ll have to hang out in delivery rooms to keep breaking my record.  Special thanks to my friend for letting me visit!  I think I have enough oxytocin running through me to last a while now…at least til Christmas.

2 responses

Babble at me:

