So this is why I get weird looks at the grocery store

Backstory:  I come from a basketball family, and my dad still coaches and plays.  Since the domestic violence shelter I work at has a basketball hoop, from time to time my dad donates some basketballs so the chillins can put some mustard on their game.

Brian and I went grocery shopping yesterday after a visit with my parents, and we’re in the parking lot loading grocery bags into the trunk of my car.

Me: Get my dad’s balls out of the way.

Brian: They keep rolling around.  Why are they so leathery and beat-up?

Me: He uses them outside everyday at lunch, and the blacktop is really rough on them.

Brian: Oh, so that’s why he keeps giving them away?

Me: Yeah, when they look like this, they’re no longer good be played with.

Brian: Ha, so then he gives them to kids.

Me: Better than throwing them away.

Brian: Put the balls in that sack so they don’t roll and crush the food.

Me: Ok, I’ll put them in the ball sack for the ride home.

Where was Alec when you need him?

34 responses

  1. Hello! Just wanted to let you know I’ve nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger award. You can find more details at my blog, bipolarbetty2. Thanks for creating a great blog! (And sorry about the informal mass notification, you can delete this comment if you’d like.) Have a great day!

  2. Leathery. Ugh! This was great — I love me some good ball talk! And my takeaway here is that you use the word “sack.” I’ve tried to beat the Midwestern out of me but still I hear myself saying “sack” at the grocery store checkout lane. It’s disgusting and offensive.

  3. Very funny blog. As was the SNL skit with Alec Baldwin’s balls. I would have liked to seer the whole thing again but the parking lot and your father’s leathery balls was just as good.

Babble at me:

